Tony Fernandes Trophy

Tony Fernandes Trophy by the AirAsia KL Junior League

Introducing the Tony Fernandes Trophy

This season, the AirAsia KL Junior League is proud to announce the introduction of the Tony Fernandes Trophy – an award presented to the top performing academy across all age groups and divisions in the 2019 B season.

How does it work? Every finishing position in the league (from 1st place in Under 16 Division 1 to 9th place in Under 8 Division 3) will be worth an allotted number of points.

The academy with the most combined points will be presented with the prestigious award at the 2019 Season B Official Awards Ceremony – and will earn the right to wear the Tony Fernandes Trophy badge on all team kits for the 2020 season.


Points Weighting

Points awarded at the end of the season will be weighted according to the number of teams in each age group. These weightings for each category can be found here.


Eligible Teams

Every team in the league will earn points towards their academy’s combined total. While points are higher for placings in Division 1, teams in every division can pick up crucial points that could lead to their academy being named Tony Fernandes Trophy champions.


Prize Ceremony

The Tony Fernandes Trophy will be presented at the end-of-season Awards Ceremony (date and venue TBC). The winning academy is encouraged to bring along all of their players for the photo op with senior AirAsia staff and league officials. More details about the Awards Ceremony will be announced soon.